Monday Menus from Maine-Smoked Salmon


Greetings from “Hometown Memories”.  Today we are going to explore hors d’oeuvres using smoked salmon as a featured item.  Many of my friends will see this and remember me bringing this to some shared mealtimes.

In Winter Harbor we have a a business that produces smoked salmon, mussels, oysters and other similar products.

Grindstone Neck of Maine Smoked Seafoods

Grindstone Neck of Maine
Smoked Seafoods

When I need to bring an hors d’oeuvre to a gathering or if I want to serve some tasty snacks before a meal at home I often turn to smoked salmon.  I use fillets for the following recipe.  They can also be accompanied by vegetables and crackers and smoked salmon spread, as well as a small dish of smoked mussels.

Smoked Salmon on Cucumbers

This dish will be a stacked design.  Ingredients can include crackers or cucumber for the base.  If using cucumbers:   Peel a large European style cucumber, leaving a few green areas for color-  slice 1/8-1/4″ thick.   Add a dollop of cream cheese, this can be plain cream cheese or one with herbs for more flavor. Roll a portion of the smoked salmon filet around a piece of chive  and add it to the top of the cream cheese, serve on a bed of lettuce or spinach or on a plate  and surround the bite size morsels surround capers.

-To increase health benefits use fat free or low fat cream cheese.

This product is usually available in the fish department of most grocery stores and can be served year round.  Enjoy this simple but delicious treat.

As they say a picture is worth a thousand words and I apologize for not including one here.

4 thoughts on “Monday Menus from Maine-Smoked Salmon

  1. MyLovingWife says:

    Just because I’m a picky French annoying person (I know it’s redundant :-P), you should spell it “hors d’oeuvre” and those sound absolutely delicious. It’s making me hungry. If I can find cream cheese at the supermarket nearby or at the US market in Paris, I’ll try that. 🙂
    You know what else would look totally delicious and enticing: a photo of your finalized dish. I’m sure it would look awesome 😀 😀 .

  2. MyLovingWife says:

    Don’t hate yourself. I’m sorry, I didn’t intend to make you feel bad. I like your blog and I think it’ll look even better with photos of your art (yep, I’m French so food is art 😀 )

  3. soulstoriesbycarol says:

    Seriously, I’m very glad for your feedback and for ways to improve my site. Please don’t hesitate to keep in touch. I find that sometime I try to do too much at once and don’t edit as I should. Love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

